Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), is how the Government and early years professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5. In our nursery, we aim to provide early years learning experiences which are happy, active, exciting, fun and secure and support the development, care and learning needs of individual children.

We follow a legal document called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework.

Download ‘What to Expect, When’ – Guidance for Parents/Carers to children’s learning and development in the Early Years Foundation Stage

Meet Flossie

How will learning take place?

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

Communication & Language

Involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

Physical Development

Involves children being active; developing co-ordination, control, and movement. Children are helped to understand the importance of physical activity and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

Personal, Social & Emotional Development

Helps children to develop a positive sense of themselves and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups, and have confidence in own abilities.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:


Involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children are given access to a wide range of reading materials.


Involves developing and improving skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating and describing shapes, spaces and measures.

Understanding the World

Involves guiding children to make sense of their surrounding world through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

Expressive Arts & Design

Involves children exploring and playing with a wide range of media and materials; music, movement, dance, role-play, design and technology.

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. Each area of learning is implemented through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activity.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

For more information about what happens in nursery, download Flossie’s Little Willows Guide (click on the sticker)